Larry Sultan, Antioch Creek, from the series Homeland, 2008  © The Estate of Larry Sultan, courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Larry Sultan, Antioch Creek, from the series Homeland, 2008 © The Estate of Larry Sultan, courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
 

FRAGMENTS - FONDATION A STICHTING  

Exhibitions 

BALCON D’HONNEUR - LEVEL 1


Private collection
Fragments
Astrid Ullens de Schooten Collection
Fondation A Stichting, Brussels


Fondation A Stichting opened its doors in south Brussels on the site of the former Bata factories in October 2012. Created in promotion of public interest upon the initiative of Astrid Ullens de Schooten, its vocation is to support the creation, knowledge, and preservation of the photographic image.

What is our capacity to see and to discern when we are surrounded by a superabundance of imagery, their immediacy complexified by both force and speed? The objective of the Fondation A Stichting is to explore the issues and contradictions of the image-document in order to question the world of images in which we inhabit. The collection is at the heart of the Fondation A Stichting. It is comprised of large ensembles of documentary-sensitive photographic works, many of which are world renowned, as well as the work of artists who have led long careers and are deserving of greater visibility. Since 2015, the Fondation A Stichting has dedicated an exhibition per season to a young artist. A veritable platform for the photographic image, the Fondation A Stichting also supports exhibition and publishing projects, organized in collaboration with other cultural institutions.

Photography looks to depict the world, bear witness to events that have happened, keep records, stimulate the memory and reflect on reality. Is making the visible stand out in a panoptic and digital society only intended for those who really want to see, as Lewis Baltz maintains in one of his writings? We are almost two decades into a new century yet the same questions remain unanswered, important and fundamental questions we must face up to more than ever today, beyond all forms of border. The Fragments exhibition presents a selection of these fragments of the world.


Jean-Paul Deridder
Artistic director at the Fondation A Stichting
Exhibition curator


Artists:
Robert Adams, Lewis Baltz, Juan Enrique Bedoya, Harry Callahan, Facundo de Zuviría, Mitch Epstein, Cesare Fabbri, Lee Friedlander, Paolo Gasparini, Guido Guidi, Nicholas Nixon, Max Regenberg, Martha Rosler, Judith Joy Ross, Larry Sultan & Mike Mandel, Ursula Schulz-Dornburg, Jaime Villaseca.

Larry Sultan, Antioch Creek, from the series Homeland, 2008  © The Estate of Larry Sultan, courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Larry Sultan, Antioch Creek, from the series Homeland, 2008 © The Estate of Larry Sultan, courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
 

FRAGMENTS - FONDATION A STICHTING 

Expositions 

BALCON D'HONNEUR - NIVEAU 1


Collection privée
Fragments
Collection Astrid Ullens de Schooten
Fondation A Stichting, Bruxelles

Créée à l’initiative d’Astrid Ullens de Schooten, la Fondation A Stichting ouvre ses portes au sud de Bruxelles en octobre 2012. Elle a pour vocation de soutenir la création, la connaissance et la conservation de l’image photographique. Qu’en est-il de notre capacité à regarder, à discerner lorsque les images qui nous entourent dans leur surabondance et leur immédiateté se complexifient avec force et rapidité ? L’objectif de la Fondation A Stichting consiste à explorer les enjeux et les contradictions de l’image-document afin de questionner ce monde du tout visuel que nous habitons. Au cœur de la Fondation A Stichting, il y a une collection. Elle est composée de grands ensembles d’oeuvres de photographes à la sensibilité documentaire, mondialement reconnus pour bon nombre d’entre eux, mais aussi d’artistes ayant déjà une longue carrière et qui méritent plus de visibilité. Depuis 2015, la Fondation A Stichting consacre également une exposition par saison à un jeune créateur. Véritable plateforme consacrée à l’image photographique, la Fondation A Stichting est aussi le partenaire de projets d’expositions et d’éditions, organisés en collaboration avec d’autres institutions culturelles.

La photographie cherche à représenter le monde, témoigner d’expériences vécues, conserver des traces, activer la mémoire et réfléchir le réel. Rendre visible dans une société panoptique et numérique, est-ce uniquement destiné à ceux qui veulent bien voir, comme l’affirme Lewis Baltz dans un de ses écrits ? Presque deux décennies d’un nouveau siècle se sont écoulées et les mêmes questions demeurent sans réponse, des questions importantes et fondamentales auxquelles nous devons faire face plus que jamais aujourd’hui, au-delà de toutes formes de frontières. L’exposition Fragments présente quelques-uns de ces éclats du monde.


Jean-Paul Deridder
Directeur artistique de la Fondation A Stichting
Commissaire de l’exposition


Artistes:
Robert Adams, Lewis Baltz, Juan Enrique Bedoya, Harry Callahan, Facundo de Zuviría, Mitch Epstein, Cesare Fabbri, Lee Friedlander, Paolo Gasparini, Guido Guidi, Nicholas Nixon, Max Regenberg, Martha Rosler, Judith Joy Ross, Larry Sultan & Mike Mandel, Ursula Schulz-Dornburg, Jaime Villaseca.