OFF TAKES – Hao Jingban<br>Courtesy : Blindspot
Film and video cycle 

MK2 Grand Palais

Une sélection de films par Matthieu Orléan

Friday, Nov 10

1pm

AU-DELA DES MONTAGNES - Jia Zhang-ke - 126” - 2015
With: Zhao Tao, Yi Zhang, Jing Dong Liang
VO : Mandarin, English – Subtitles : FR


4pm: performances

TANKER - Noémie Goudal - 6” - 2013
Courtesy : Galerie Les Filles du Calvaire
Production: Spectre

Tanker is to be taken as an animated photograph. The crew of an oil tanker, dressed in white, is filmed going down an endless ladder in a 23 meters deep tank. They form an uninterrupted chain up to the last man who closes the march and rises towards the only zenith opening. Noémie Goudal explores the poetics of industrial space and the possibilities of its appropriation, between reinvention of the place and cyclic rituals.

ON THE BEACH - Goran Skofic - 24” - 2016
Courtesy : Galerie Dix9- Hélène Lacharmoise

A single frame. Sea, sky, and a beach. And many people who are headed somewhere. Some are looking for something, some are waiting for something. Some are quiet, some are talking. Some are by themselves, some are in the company of others, and some aren't here. Some can hear something, others pretend they do. Some aren't certain whether they've seen all of this before, others think that things used to be different. Some are looking for something better, while others stay in from of the screen, watching them leave.

VB 62/SPASIMO PALERMO - Vanessa Beecroft - 26” – 2008
Courtesy : Galleria Lia Rumma, Milan - Naples & Caroline Smulders, Paris

Since 2008 sculpture is the genre that the artist has been exploring and “redefining”, together with performance art, in what has increasingly become an investigation and synthesis of the terrain vague that unites “the arts of time and the arts of space”. “The unnatural juxtaposition between the life and warmth of the bodies and the cold stillness of stone - says the artist - highlights the melancholy and fascination of sculpture”. The performance VB62 held by Vanessa Beecroft in the Church of Santa Maria dello Spasimo in Palermo recalls the tradition of late baroque Sicilian sculpture, transforming the simple use of stucco into a refined art form.
A group of gesso sculptures and a group of women, below the apse of the church, raise questions about notions of the real and the unreal, maintaining an unbridgeable gap between the figures and the public.

OFF TAKES – Hao Jingban – 21"18 - 2016
Courtesy : Galerie Blindspot

Since 2012, Hao Jingban has been conducting research and filming for Beijing Ballroom project. She traces the present ballrooms in Beijing to the two waves of ballroom dancing in the early 1950s and post-Cultural Revolution late 1970s. In the three years of shooting, Hao attempts different video languages to explore these interweaving historical narratives. Hao’s most recent video work “Off Takes” (2016) originates from the discarded footages from this project. These personal life stories, bound up in the shifting courses of political climates, had once failed to be interpreted because of their historical distance and the absurdity of reality. Through the reaorganization and reactivation of these once deselected fragments, Hao meditates on the semiotic and affective relations between image and message.

6pm

LE CLAIR DE TERRE - Guy Gilles - 95” - 1970
With: Patrick Jouané, Edwige Feuillère, Annie Girardot
VO : Croatian – Subtitles : ENG

Movies at 4pm are screened in the original language with English subtitles

OFF TAKES – Hao Jingban<br>Courtesy : Blindspot
OFF TAKES – Hao Jingban<br>Courtesy : Blindspot
VB 62/SPASIMO PALERMO - Vanessa Beecroft<br>Courtesy : Galleria Lia Rumma, Milan - Naples & Caroline Smulders, Paris
VB 62/SPASIMO PALERMO - Vanessa Beecroft<br>Courtesy : Galleria Lia Rumma, Milan - Naples & Caroline Smulders, Paris
VB 62/SPASIMO PALERMO - Vanessa Beecroft<br>Courtesy : Galleria Lia Rumma, Milan - Naples & Caroline Smulders, Paris
TANKER - Noémie Goudal<br>Courtesy : Galerie Les filles du calvaire - Production: Spectre
Films & vidéos d'artistes 

MK2 Grand Palais

Une sélection de films par Matthieu Orléan

VENDREDI 10 NOV

13H

AU-DELA DES MONTAGNES - Jia Zhang-ke - 126” - 2015
Avec : Zhao Tao, Yi Zhang, Jing Dong Liang
VO : Mandarin, Anglais – Sous-titres : FR

16H : PERFORMANCES

TANKER - Noémie Goudal - 6” - 2013
Courtesy : Galerie Les Filles du Calvaire
Production: Spectre

Tanker se contemple comme une photographie en mouvement. Les membres de l’équipage d’un pétrolier, vêtus de blanc, sont filmés descendant le long d’une interminable échelle dans la cuve de 23 mètres de profondeur. Ils forment une chaîne quasiment ininterrompue jusqu’au dernier homme qui clôt la marche et remonte vers la seule ouverture zénithale. Noémie Goudal explore la poétique de l’espace industriel et les possibilités de son appropriation, entre réinvention du lieu et rituels cycliques.

ON THE BEACH - Goran Skofic - 24” - 2016
Courtesy : Galerie Dix9- Hélène Lacharmoise

Une seule image. La mer, le ciel et une plage. Et beaucoup de gens, qui vont quelque part. Certains cherchent quelque chose, d'autres attendent quelque chose. Certains sont silencieux, d'autres parlent. Certains sont seuls, d'autres accompagnés, d'autres encore sont absents. Certains entendent quelque chose, d'autres font semblant. Certains ne sont pas sûrs d'avoir déjà vu tout cela, d'autres pensent que les choses ont changé. Certains cherchent quelque chose de mieux, tandis que d'autres restent devant l'écran et les regardent partir.

VB 62/SPASIMO PALERMO - Vanessa Beecroft - 26” – 2008
Courtesy : Galleria Lia Rumma, Milan - Naples & Caroline Smulders, Paris

Depuis 2008, c'est la sculpture que l'artiste explore et « redéfinit », ainsi que la performance artistique, dans ce qui est devenu une étude et une synthèse du « terrain vague » qui relie les arts du temps aux arts de l'espace. « La juxtaposition non naturelle entre la vie et la chaleur des corps, et la froideur immobile de la pierre, met en évidence la mélancolie et la fascination de la sculpture », explique l'artiste. La performance VB62 réalisée par Vanessa Beecroft dans l'église Santa Maria dello Spasimo de Palerme rappelle la tradition de la sculpture sicilienne de la fin de l'ère baroque. Elle transforme l'utilisation simple du stuc en une forme d'art raffinée.
Un groupe de sculptures en gesso et un groupe de femmes, sous l'abside de l'église, questionnent les notions de réalité et d'irréalité, creusant un fossé infranchissable entre les figures et le public.


OFF TAKES – Hao Jingban – 21"18 - 2016
Courtesy : Galerie Blindspot

Depuis 2012, Hao Jingban effectue des recherches et des tournages pour le projet Beijing Ballroom. Elle fait le lien entre les salles de bal actuelles de Pékin et celles des deux vagues de popularité des danses de salon, au début des années 1950 et à la fin des années 1970, après la révolution culturelle. Au cours des trois ans de tournage, Hao a expérimenté différents langages vidéo pour explorer ces récits historiques enchevêtrés. Son œuvre vidéo la plus récente, « Off Takes » (2016), se base sur des séquences non conservées de ce projet. Ces histoires personnelles prises dans l'évolution du climat politique n'ont autrefois pas été interprétées, en raison de la distance historique et de l'absurdité du réel. En réorganisant et en redonnant vie à ces séquences précédemment rejetées, Hao réfléchit aux relations sémiotiques et affectives entre l'image et le message.

18H

LE CLAIR DE TERRE - Guy Gilles - 95” - 1970
Avec : Patrick Jouané, Edwige Feuillère, Annie Girardot
VO : Français

Les films des séances de 16h sont diffusés en langue originale sous-titrés en anglais.